The Return Of Kerry Wood; A True Cub Comes Home!

Welcome back, Woody!  While some Cubs’ fans might be hesitant to get excited about Kerry Wood’s return to Chicago due to the injuries that haunted him during his first tour of duty, I am not one of them.  Sure, Woody was plagued by injuries in the past but those days are gone.  A skeptical fan need only to look at the year Wood had last season with the Yankees.  During the post-season Kerry came out of the bullpen and was lights out.  I thought to myself, “He’s back!”

Now, Woody is healthy and has returned to form.  Now, he is back with the Cubs and I am excited.  He has new life and the Cubs will benefit from his presence in the bullpen.  Jim Hendry sought a veteran right-handed reliever to anchor the bullpen and Kerry Wood is the perfect fit.  Personally, I was skeptical at the idea of bringing him back, but something dramatically opened my eyes.

thumbnailCA0LAD7Y.jpgWoody wanted to return to Chicago since his family has roots here.  His wife is from the Windy City and he wanted to make Chicago his permanent home.  That is great, but the reasons why I am excited about his return is that I was watching Chicago Tribune Live and Dave Kaplan was talking about a conversation that he had with Kerry Wood.  He jokingly told Kerry that the White Sox were interested in signing him as a free agent and asked Wood if he had considered going there.  Kerry Wood’s response, “Never!”  Spoken like a true Cub!

Then, when I heard that Jim Hendry was considering signing him and Woody was willing to accept far less money on the open free agent market to come to Chicago to play for the Cubs again I thought, “Hmmm”.  In essence, he was willing to take a pay cut to accomodate the Cubs who have had a huge payroll deficiency.  He was taking one for the team.  Wow, you don’t see that every day.  Any player who is willing to turn down millions of dollars to help the team out is definitely my kind of player.  Kerry Wood is truly a Cub!

I will never forget the day he struck out 20 while pitching against the Houston Astros in 1998, his rookie season.  I have watched a million games and that, I swear, was the best pitching performance that I have ever seen.   Better perhaps, than any no-hitter that I have watched.  Kerry Wood was in the zone that day.  It was incredible!  Sure, due to injuries, he has had a disappointing career, but we can take heart that Woody is healthy now and he’s back, back with a vengeance.  Kerry is a true Cub, a veteran presence, and a true leader in the club house.  I am glad to have him back and wish him the best of luck as the Cubs set forth on their journey to the World Series in 2011.  Don’t laugh.  It could happen.  As Mike Quade has said, “Why not us?”

3 comments

  1. raysrenegade

    Wood actually found his groove it seemed while with the Yankees last year and provided some great relief moments for him.
    Worst thing is that the Cubs had to let Wood go and mature a bit as a reliever before bringing him back into the foild.
    He is going to be a very effective relief option for the Cubs in 2011, and should see the love again flow from the Cubs Nation.

    Rays Renegade
    http://raysrenegade.mlblogs.com

  2. Elida

    It’s hard to find your blog in google. I found it on 20 spot,
    you should build quality backlinks , it will help you to get more visitors.

    I know how to help you, just search in google – k2 seo tips

Leave a comment